Navratra (Celebrations from 21 September 2017 to 29 September 2017) - Sharad Navratri / Shardiya Navratri

February 4, 2019

Navratra (Sharad Navaratri/Shardiya Navratras) will begin on 21st September 2017, Thursday and will last till 29th September 2017, Friday ending with Shri Mahanavami.


Navratras are celebrated five times every year but most important and auspecious of these are Sharad Navratras or Shardiya Navratri which marks the beginning of winter season as well as Diwali (Deepawali) season and the other prominent one is Chaitra or Chetra Navratras which are generally celebrated during March-April. Chaitra Navratra are also called Vasantha Navratras. Other Navratri are Gupta Navratri, Paush Navratri and Maagh Navratri.


Gupta Navratri: It's also known as Gayatri, Aashadh Ratri or Shakambhari Navratri.  It's celebrated in the shukla paksha of hindu calendar month of Aashadh (June-July)


Paush Navratri: It's celebrated in the shukla paksha of hindu calendar month of Paush (December - January).


Maagh Navratri: Maagh Navratri is celebrated in the first day of the bright fortnight of the lunar month of 'Maagh' (January - February)


Sharad Navratri/Shardiya Navratras: Being the most prominent Sharad Navratras also called Maha Navaratras (the Great Navratri) and is celebrated in the 'pratipada' (first day) of the bright fortnight of the lunar month of 'Ashvina'.


Vasanth Navratri/Chaitra Navratri: This Navratri is celebrated in the first day of the bright fortnight of the lunar month of 'Chaitra'  It's also important as it also mark the beginning of new Vikrami Samvat in hindu calendar.  Story or legend of this Navratri is associated with King Sudarshan and Queen Shashikala, who were ancestors of Lord Rama.  They were blessed by Sage Bhardwaj, who instructed them to worship Maa Shakti (Durga), which in turn gave them all sort of prosperity.  Lord Rama and his younger brother Lakshmana also worshipped Maa Durga during Chatra / Vasantha Navratri before beginning their search for Maa Sita and it's only with the grace of Maa Durga, they were able to bring her back and win over Lanka Naresh Ravana.


Navaratri is commended in diverse ways all through India. In North India, all the Navaratris are commended with much intensity by fasting on every one of the nine days and worshiping the Mother Goddess in her distinctive shapes. The Chaitra Navratri reaches a state of perfection in Ram Navami and the Sharad Navaratri comes full circle in Durga Puja and Dussehra.


Dates and time for Nine days of Navratri Pujan for Sharad Navratri / Shardiya Navratras

21st September, 2017: Sharad / Shardiya Navratri begins. Ghat-sthapana. Maa Shailputri Upasana

22nd September, 2017: Second day of Maa Durga Pujan, Dvitiya.

23rd September, 2017: Third day of Maa Durga Pujan, Tritiya.

24th September, 2017: Fourth day of Maa Durga Pujan, Chaturthi.

25th September, 2017: Fifth day of Maa Durga Pujan, Panchami.

26th September, 2017: Sixth day of Maa Durga Pujan, Shasthi,

27th September, 2017: Seventh day of Maa Durga Pujan, Maha Saptami Vrata.

28th September, 2017: Eigth day of Maa Durga Pujan. Shri Durga Mahaashtami.

29th September, 2017: Ninth day of Maa Durga Pujan.  Last day of Navratri Pujan which is also known as Maha Navmi in Sharad Navratri / Shardiya Navratras.

30th September, 2017: Vijayadashmi or Dushhera

Nine forms or Avararas of Goddess Durga worshipped during Navratras

During nine days of celebrations every day a different avatar or form of Goddess Durga is worshipped.  All these nine forms has their distinguished characteristics and considered to protect different parts of human body from all sorts of ailments, problems etc. These nine forms of Goddess durga are explained below:

  1. Shailputri
  2. Brahmacharini
  3. Chandraghanta
  4. Kushmanda
  5. Skanda Mata
  6. Katyayani
  7. Kaal Ratri
  8. Maha Gauri
  9. Siddhidatri

First three days of celebration and worship

In the first three days of celebration and worship, The goddess is divided an otherworldly constrain called Durga also called Kali so as to crush & destroy all our underhanded and enemies and granting boons.

Second three days or 4th to 6th day of celebration and worship

The Mother is venerated as a supplier of profound fortune, Lakshmi, who is recognized to have the force of giving on her devotees endless riches, as she is the goddess of fortune.

Final/Last three days i.e. 7th to 9th day of worship

The last set of three days is used in worshiping the goddess of knowledge, Saraswati. So as to have surrounding triumph in life, adherents look for the gifts of each of the three parts of the awesome gentility, henceforth the nine nights of love and worship.

To know about/or to buy Shri Durga Upasana [Hindi Poetic Translation of Shree Durga Saptashati by Dr.M.L.Sharma, please write to us/or Call @ 91-9999442728.]


Please also visit to read and know more about great book "Neeras ki Shri Durga Upasana"

Every efforts has been made to ensure that the information presented is correct, but we do not claim
No portion of this website may be reproduced in any form whatsoever without the express written permission of 2010